GISLook – preview GIS data in Mac Finder

As I wrote before, I’ve recently gotten myself a MacBook Pro and am using this as a testbed to see if I can move my entire workflow to Mac hardware (and as much Mac software as possible). Well, the deal just got a little bit sweeter as Bernhard Jenny of ETH Zürich released GISLook, a Finder plugin that allows for the preview of GIS data.

Currently only a few vector formats (Shape, E00 and Arc Coverage) are supported, but the list of  elevation formats is more extensive and I’m sure both lists will be expanded soon.

Straying a bit away from the title of this post, I’m please to announce that the MacBook is certainly turning out to be a very nice machine and, thanks to 4 Gb of RAM and a faster processor, it outperforms my Windows machine by a fair bit. The extra memory comes in very useful when rasterizing large maps in Photoshop, or opening them in Illustrator.

Leave a Reply

